Awards and Recognition | Research

Call for applications: 18th annual Irène Joliot-Curie Prize

From July 15, 2019 to September 26, 2019

The French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation and Airbus launch the 18th annual Irène Joliot-Curie Prize. Intended to promote women's place in research and technology, this Prize is awarded to those women whose careers combine excellence and dynamism.

What is the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize?

Each year, the French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation and Airbus co-fund the Irène Joliot-Curie Prize as part of their campaign to promote diversity in the fields of science and technology.

In order to expand the scientific reach, since 2011 they have been entrusting the selection of winners to the French Academy of Sciences and the French Academy of Technologies.

3 Prize categories

  1. The “Female Scientist of the Year” category is awarded to a woman who has made an outstanding contribution in the field of public or private research by opening up their subject area, the importance of their works and recognition in their scientific field on both national and international level.
  2. The “Young Female Scientist” category showcases and supports a young woman who has distinguished herself through her career path and works, who stands out as a talented specialist in her field.
  3. The “Woman in Business and Technology” category is awarded to a woman who, through scientific and technical excellence, has devoted herself to developing innovations that are useful to society by working within a company or by contributing to the creation of a company.

The “Female Scientist of the Year” Prize is worth €40,000, and the “Young Female Scientist” and “Woman in Business and Technology” Prizes are each worth €15,000.

The deadline for applications is September 26, 2019.

More information on the call for applications (in French)