You are here : Version Anglaise > News & About > Missions


The Université de Lyon is a world-class academic site of excellence. Awarded the IDEX label in 2017, it is located  at the heart of the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region, in Lyon & Saint-Étienne.

The Université de Lyon, which is structured around 12 member institutions and 25 associated institutions, has three major objectives:

To be a major, attractive and responsible university

with a reputation for excellence and innovation, and one which is enriched by strong international outreach

37 member and associated institutions
140,000 students
20,000 of whom are international students
6,800 researchers and research lecturers

To provide outstanding training and research opportunities

in line with current social expectations and change

5 major scientific fields:
Biohealth, Humanities, Chemistry, Engineering, Digital Technology
137 Master's curricula
1 unique PhD program
172 laboratories

To develop and promote the dynamics of the Lyon Saint-Étienne site

in conjunction with all regional stakeholders: citizens, organizations, companies and local authorities (the metropolises of Lyon and Saint-Étienne, the Région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes and other regional authorities)

800 million euros in funding
and 25 million euros a year for the IDEXLYON project
  5 major interdisciplinary strands of action:
training, research, international outreach, student life, promotion and socio-economic partnerships
  80,000 m² of construction work and 300,000 m² of redevelopment
  1,600 new spaces in student social housing