You are here : Version Anglaise > News & About > Governance and bodies

Governance and bodies

4 decision-making bodies


Governing Board (CA)

The Governing Board determines the Université de Lyon's policies. It has 44 members: representatives of member institutions, qualified individuals, representatives of businesses, regional authorities and organizations, teacher-researchers, teacher and researcher representatives, representatives of other staff and student representatives.
►View the list of members of the CA

Board of Members

The Board of Members include representatives of the 12 member institutions. They are involved in the preparation of work and the implementation of decisions made by the Governing Board.
►View the members of the board

Academic Council

The Academic Council is an advisory body composed of 99 members from the Université de Lyon's member institutions. The Academic Council can express wishes related to the orientation of policies in training, research, the dissemination of scientific culture and documentation. It advises shared projects.

Strategic Orientation Council (COS)

It belongs to the Université de Lyon and the Fondation pour l'Université de Lyon. It advises the Université de Lyon's main strategic orientation.
►View the list of the Strategic Orientation Council's members

The UdL's governance


Frank Debouck


Composed of nine directors from member institutions, it supports the President of the Université de Lyon with his duties.
  • Frédéric FLEURY, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1
  • Nathalie DOMPNIER, Université Lumière Lyon 2
  • Éric CARPANO, Université Jean Moulin Lyon 3
  • Florent PIGEON, Université Jean Monnet
  • Pascal RAY, École Centrale de Lyon
  • Marie GAILLE, CNRS
  • Jean-François PINTON, ENS de Lyon
  • Frédéric FOTIADU, INSA Lyon

Vice Presidents

They are elected from the directors of the member institutions, and chair the commissions relating to the UdL's main areas of action:
  • Vice President of academic strategy:
    Frédéric Fleury
  • Vice President of science and society, dissemination of knowledge
    Nathalie Dompnier
Other Vice-Presidents will be designated during the next meeting of the governing board (CA).

Student Vice Presidents

  • Student Vice President from the Academic Council:
    to be nominated
  • Student Vice President from the Governing Board:
    Yo-Han Park, Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1